Ahmet Davutoglu arrives in Baghdad
Turkish Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoglu arrived today in Baghdad in a visit that plans to mend ties between the two neighboring states and discuss regional development as well as the Islamic State (IS) group insurgency in Iraq and Syria.

Davutoglu’s visit came on the official request of his Iraqi counterpart Haidar al-Abadi whom the Turkish PM is to visit along with Iraqi President Fuad Massoum and Parliament Speaker Salim al-Jabouri.

The visit comes days after Baghdad and Erbil reached an agreement over oil dispute, something that halted ties between Baghdad and Ankara with the first accusing the later of plotting with the Kurdish region to “smuggle Iraq’s oil” without Baghdad’s approval.

Davutoglu is planned to arrive in Kurdistan Region tomorrow and meet the autonomous region’s President Massoud Barzani and Prime Minister Nechirvan Barzani.

A high-level delegation is accompanying the Turkish PM in the tour.

News Code: 8899  |  Date: 2014/11/20  |  Time: 13 : 7

FaceBook   Twitter   Delicious   Digg   Buzz   Google Bookmarks   ˜áæÈ  
Send comment
Name :
Email :